RSS

It’s my life and I’ll sleep if I want to!

30 Jan

I fell asleep at 8:30 last night.  On the couch, in front of the TV, with T still fussing himself back to sleep after being woken by a short barking fit from the dogs.  And at 11:30, when DH finally managed to get me awake enough to stand (I know it’s shocking, but I can be quite a bear), I stomped up the stairs, brushed my teeth, put on pjs, and fell back asleep until 7:30 when I heard T reading to himself in his crib.  It.  Was.  AWESOME.

Image

I know so many moms, parents, people, who berate themselves for being tired.  They have a long list of ailments, maladies, poor nutritional choices, exercise inefficiencies, impotent vitamins, anything and everything that they think they are not doing properly, hence their sheer exhaustion.  Since becoming a mom I’ve spoken with so many others who are apologetic about their yawns and bloodshot eyes.  Their body has let them down, and they are truly sorry. 

WHAT?!?!!!  Sure there are days when I wish I had more energy to do just one more thing, play with T a few more minutes, go a few blocks further with the dogs, finish that last chapter.  That’s my mind saying “You only get one chance, take it!” not “your body is unworthy of this brain!”  It’s like a badge of honor to be tired, and the ultimate reward to be able to sleep well after a busy day.

So I did, for a really long time.  And this morning, when I woke and my headache was gone and my eyes were clear and I spoke with sweet words and hummed through the day with the patience of a saint, my brain – and the world – thanked me.

Do you feel like you get “enough” sleep?  Does it change your outlook on your day when you do?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 30, 2013 in Parenting

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “It’s my life and I’ll sleep if I want to!

  1. Stacey

    January 30, 2013 at 10:37 am

    Hey there! Don’t you look refreshed and ready for anything. Well, I’m sure you do… if I could see you in “real life” I’d think that. :-) Nothing beats a good nights sleep. I’m very fortunate to get plenty of sleep. I always feel sorry for people who have trouble with it and walk around like zombies. I’m with you though…. I’m usually exhausted because I’ve lived my life and worked my butt off and made time for everything and everyone. I’ve given and received, loved, and lived, created and planned… and that is all the makings for passing out on the couch at 8:00!
    Good for you bright eyes! Have a great day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

