RSS

Kid Stuff

23 May

This week was a blur and as I sat down (!) this evening I realized it’s been a while.  So here I am.

My husband and I have always maintained very active lifestyles.  Whether it was getting up early to head to the farmers’ market, thrift shopping, or road trip, or heading out late to hit a concert or meet up with friends, we were pretty much non-stop.  And we walk – a LOT (one of the benefits of living in the city).  When I was pregnant with T, my dad was constantly asking how I was doing, wondering if I was working too hard or staying up too late or not getting enough rest.  I did my best to reassure him (i.e., white lies about earlier bed times and restful weekends) but I think T got used to all the activity that was actually taking place.  That kid is definitely mine – he’s up at the crack of dawn and wants to be moving every minute he’s awake. 

Photo credit Getty Images

I am reminded this time every year why I love city living and why I’m glad we have the good fortune for our kids to be raised in this City in particular.  One of my favorite things to do in the summer is grab the picnic basket and a bottle of wine and hit the free concerts in the park.  DH hates these musical events (likely because I make him carry the basket) which, unfortunately for him, are a nearly weekly occurrence.  There are outdoor movies on the Pier, festivals for every nationality, bocce tournaments, wine and jazz festivals, baseball, more concerts, block parties, boat races, yoga in the park, free swimming pools, fireworks, corner snowball stands, and celebrations for all sorts of historic events.  And we do all of them – and more – as a family.

Our kids haven’t slowed us down and bit.  Oh sure, there are changes – scheduling around nap times and play groups, more breaks for snacks, missing that last inning when it is well past bedtime.  And we’ve cut out a lot of our bar-hopping (because really, who brings a baby to a bar?).  But other than the time we no longer spend drinking and, er, recovering, it was a pleasant surprise to realize we still do most of the same things.  As a bonus, we get to act like kids along with our boys – my husband can swing to his heart’s content without anyone pegging him as the creepy guy at the playground, and no one thinks twice about a woman singing or dancing like an idiot when her toddler is in tow.  I’m sure the day will come when the boys want nothing to do with us, but for now I just hope they are having as good a time as my husband and I.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 23, 2012 in family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Kid Stuff

  1. Stacey@aGh

    May 23, 2012 at 10:37 am

    I love this! It’s great that you continue to be YOU and live your life.. .but include your children in all the great experiences. I have friends with kids that do NOTHING and friends who’s kids are with them doing everything (concerts, dinner, movies, road trips, etc.) I have to say the kids that “did” are the coolest, happiest, most creative and daring as they grow up. Not to mention that they continue to appreciate and have great relationships with their parents into adulthood. I think it’s wonderful that you guys do so much as a family. Bravo! 🙂

     
  2. Chaotic Life, Happy Home

    May 25, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    Thanks for the bravo! It took me a while to realize that we might be outside the norm…we don’t have a lot of friends with kids and it never occurred to us to do it differently. I’ll shoot for a cool, daring kid any day!

     

Leave a Reply

 
