RSS

Thanks Dad!

17 Jun

I love my Dad – love him!  Unfortunately we did not always get along….there was a long, awkward period (i.e., high school) in which we could barely stand to be in the same room together.  Okay, I could not stand to be in the same room.  But lucky for both of us my Dad is super awesome and didn’t give up on me and one day I woke up and realized what a jacknut I’d been.  And so we live happily ever after, except for the fact that Dad likes to remind my of my jack-nuttery by occasionally reciting (usually in front of company) some horrifically embarrassing tale.  In honor of Dad, here are a few things I’ve learned, in no particular order:

1.  Be happy.  (Yes, it’s that simple).

2.  Like what you do.  Refer to No. 1

3.  Friends count, so don’t count friends.  In other words, it’s the quality, not the quantity.

4.  What would Grandma think?  I don’t remember a time when my conscience didn’t have Grandma’s voice!

5.  Family matters.

6.  Laughter can fix anything, so use it early and often.

7.  Pitch your tent on high ground.  And don’t forget the rain-flap.

8.  The car WILL need gas to go.

9.  Nothing tastes better after a hard day than a cold beer.

10.  Just because you have money doesn’t mean you need to spend it.

11.  Just because you don’t have money doesn’t need you can’t help someone less fortunate.

12.  The great outdoors is wonderful and terrifying and awesome.

13.  It doesn’t matter what the Jones’ are doing unless your name is Jones.

14.  If it’s important to you, keep trying.

15.  You don’t have to be perfect to be a great Dad.

Photo credit: do512.com

“When your daughter is in high school you’re the stupidest person alive, in college at least you have half a brain, but it’s not until she gets married that you become the smartest man she’s ever met.”- Dad

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2012 in family, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Thanks Dad!

  1. Stacey

    June 17, 2012 at 10:51 am

    I love this! I think we’ve all had the period where things weren’t “oh so fabulous”. But man, when you get older there’s nobody you appreciate more than your parents. Sounds like your dad was awesome. And he obviously raised a wonderful daughter! I need to print out these 15 and read them often! Thanks for sharing.

     
  2. Stacey

    June 17, 2012 at 10:53 am

    Your dad IS awesome, that is.

     
  3. Chaotic Life, Happy Home

    June 17, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    “Raised a wonderful daughter….” aw go on, you make me blush! But I am definitely lucky in the parent department, and thankfully smart enough to realize it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
